Vice-presidential election to be held on Aug 6

Vice-president M Venkaiah Naidu will demit workplace on August 10. The final date of nomination for the election is ready for July 19

The polls to elect the sixteenth vice chairman of India can be held on August 6, with the final date of nomination set for July 19, the Election Commission of India introduced on Wednesday.

The polls are slated to be held 4 days earlier than vice-president M Venkaiah Naidu demits workplace on August 10.

The vice-president is elected by the members of the electoral faculty consisting of the members of each homes of Parliament in accordance with the system of proportional illustration by way of the one transferable vote. The electoral faculty contains a complete of 788 members — 233 elected members of Rajya Sabha, 12 nominated members of Rajya Sabha and 543 elected members of Lok Sabha.

“For marking the vote, the Commission will supply particular pens. The pen will be given to the electors in the polling station by the designated official when the ballot paper is handed over. Electors have to mark the ballot only with this particular pen and not with any other pen. Voting by using any other pen shall lead to invalidation of the vote at the time of counting,” the Commission stated in an announcement.


The secretary basic of the Lok Sabha has been appointed because the returning officer for the election. The Election Commission assertion added that the nomination paper of a candidate needs to be “subscribed by at least 20 electors as proposers and by at least another 20 electors as seconders.

Since the voting will be by secret ballot, the Commission has asked the electors to maintain the secrecy of the vote. “The Constitution has expressly provided that election to the office of Vice-President shall be by secret ballot. Therefore, the electors are expected to scrupulously maintain secrecy of vote. There is no concept of open voting in this election and showing the ballot to anyone under any circumstances in the case of Presidential and Vice-Presidential elections is totally prohibited,” the assertion stated.

The Election Commission on June 9 introduced that the presidential election can be held on July 18 and counting of votes will happen on July 21. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which has put forth the title of former Jharkhand governor Draupadi Murmu, has a bonus within the race, however the opposition has additionally fielded consensus candidate — former union minister Yahswant Sinha.

Close Story

Source link