India’s Danish Siddiqui, killed in Afghanistan, amongst Pulitzer 2022 winners

India’s Danish Siddiqui, killed in Afghanistan, amongst Pulitzer 2022 winners

A Pulitzer Prize was awarded to the late Danish Siddiqui within the class of Feature Photography. Notably, photojournalist Siddiqui, who was related to the worldwide information company Reuters, was killed whereas protecting the battle between Afghan troops and the Taliban within the Spin Boldak district of Kandahar metropolis final yr. The different Indian winners included Adnan Abidi, Sanna Irshad Mattoo and Amit Dave.

Reuters photographer Danish Siddiqui was posthumously awarded a Pulitzer together with Adnan Abidi, Sanna Irshad Mattoo, and Amit Dave for his or her photos of Covid’s toll on India. Siddiqui was killed final yr whereas protecting a conflict between Afghan particular forces and Taliban insurgents.

Additionally, journalists from Ukraine had been acknowledged with a 2022 Pulitzer Prize particular quotation, whereas jurors of journalism’s prime honours additionally acknowledged protection of the January 6 assaults on the Capitol, the withdrawal from Afghanistan and the Surfside condominium collapse in Florida.

Here’s the total checklist of winners in journalism and their awards:

Public Service

Winner: The Washington Post for its account of the assault on Washington on January 6, 2021.

Breaking News Reporting

Winner: The employees of the Miami Herald for its protection of the collapse of the Seaside condominium towers in Florida.

Investigative Reporting

Winner: Corey G. Johnson, Rebecca Woolington and Eli Murray of the Tampa Bay Times for an expose of extremely poisonous hazards inside Florida’s solely battery recycling plant that compelled the implementation of security measures to adequately shield employees and close by residents.

Explanatory Reporting

Winner: Staff of Quanta Magazine, notably Natalie Wolchover, for reporting on how the Webb Space Telescope works.

Local Reporting

Winner: Madison Hopkins of the Better Government Association and Cecilia Reyes of the Chicago Tribune for an examination of Chicago’s lengthy historical past of failed constructing and hearth security code enforcement.

National Reporting

Winner: The employees of The New York Times for a undertaking that quantified a disturbing sample of deadly visitors stops by police.

International Reporting

Winner: The employees of The New York Times for reporting that uncovered the huge civilian tolls of US-led airstrikes, difficult official accounts of American army engagements in Iraq, Syria and Afghanistan.

Feature Writing

Winner: Jennifer Senior of The Atlantic for a portrayal of a household’s reckoning of loss within the 20 years since 9/11.


Winner: Melinda Henneberger of the Kansas City Star for persuasive columns demanding justice for alleged victims of a retired police detective accused of being a sexual predator.


Winner: Salamishah Tillet, contributing critic at massive for The New York Times, for writing about Black tales in artwork and standard tradition.

Editorial Writing

Winner: Lisa Falkenberg, Michael Lindenberger, Joe Holley and Luis Carrasco of the Houston Chronicle for a marketing campaign that, with authentic reporting, revealed voter suppression techniques, rejected the parable of widespread voter fraud and argued for smart voting reforms.

Illustrated Reporting and Commentary

Winner: Fahmida Azim, Anthony Del Col, Josh Adams and Walt Hickey of Insider for a comic book on an Uyghur internment camp.

Breaking News Photography

Winner: Marcus Yam of the Los Angeles Times for uncooked and pressing photos of the US departure from Afghanistan.

Winner: Win McNamee, Drew Angerer, Spencer Platt, Samuel Corum and Jon Cherry of Getty Images for complete and constantly riveting images of the assault on the US capitol.

Feature Photography

Winner: Adnan Abidi, Sanna Irshad Mattoo, Amit Dave and the late Danish Siddiqui of Reuters for photos of Covid’s toll in India.

Audio Reporting

Winner: Staffs of Futuro Media and PRX for “Suave” — an immersive profile of a person re-entering society after greater than 30 years in jail.

Here’s the checklist for books, drama and music:


Winner: The Netanyahus: An Account of a Minor and Ultimately Even Negligible Episode within the History of a Very Famous Family, by Joshua Cohen.


Winner: Fat Ham, by James Ijames


Winner: Covered with Night, by Nicole Eustace and Cuba: An American History, by Ada Ferrer


Winner: Chasing Me to My Grave: An Artist’s Memoir of the Jim Crow South, by the late Winfred Rembert as advised to Erin I. Kelly


Winner: frank: sonnets, by Diane Seuss

General Nonfiction

Winner: Invisible Child: Poverty, Survival & Hope in an American City, by Andrea Elliott


Winner: Voiceless Mass, by Raven Chacon

The Pulitzer Prize is an award for achievements in newspaper, journal, on-line journalism, literature and musical composition throughout the United States. It was established in 1917 by provisions within the will of Joseph Pulitzer, who had made his fortune as a newspaper writer, and is run by Columbia University.

(With inputs from companies)

Source link