Gujarat CM-elect Bhupendra Patel meets Governor, stakes declare to type govt

Gujarat’s chief minister-designate Bhupendra Patel met state Governor Acharya Devvrat on Sunday night at Raj Bhavan in Gandhinagar and staked declare to type the federal government.

“Today paid a courtesy call to his excellency the Governor of Gujarat, Acharya Devvratji at Raj Bhavan,” Patel wrote on Twitter. 

He was accompanied by the central and state leaders, together with former CM Vijay Rupani.

Patel was elected because the chief of the BJP legislature social gathering after Rupani stepped down from the place on Saturday.

Earlier BJP chief CR Patil knowledgeable that Patel will take oath as the brand new chief minister of Gujarat on Monday.

“Gujarat Chief Minister-elect Bhupendra Patel will take oath tomorrow. No one else will take oath along with him as the name of Deputy Chief Minister is not decided yet,” stated Patil. The state BJP chief stated that particulars concerning the new cupboard can be finalised later.

Patel is an MLA from the Ghatlodia seat, which was beforehand held by Anandiben Patel, who’s presently serving because the Governor of Uttar Pradesh, with a further cost of Madhya Pradesh.

A primary-time MLA, Patel had received his seat by a margin of 117,000 votes in 2017, the most important margin in that ballot defeating Congress candidate Shashikant Patel.

He has served as chairman of the Standing Committee of Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation and had additionally chaired the Ahmedabad Urban Development Authority (AUDA). Patel has additionally served as municipal councillor in Ahmedabad.

With Assembly polls within the state scheduled to happen in 2022, BJP went with Patel, a Patidar face for the Chief Minister.

In Gujarat, the Patidars are a dominant caste with a sizeable management over the electoral votes. The group additionally dominates the political financial system with a stronghold over schooling, realty and cooperative sectors.

Rupani took cost because the Chief Minister of Gujarat on August 7, 2016. He presently represents Gujarat’s Rajkot West as MLA. In the 2017 state election, the BJP received 99 of the state’s 182 Assembly seats, Congress obtained 77 seats.

With inputs from companies. 

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters

* Enter a sound electronic mail

* Thank you for subscribing to our e-newsletter.

Never miss a narrative! Stay linked and knowledgeable with Mint.
our App Now!!

Source link