BJP Wins All 26 Seats in Assam’s Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council polls, PM Modi says ‘historic mandate’

BJP Wins All 26 Seats in Assam’s Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council polls, PM Modi says ‘historic mandate’
GUWAHATI: In its greatest electoral victory in Assam, BJP on Sunday gained all of the 26 seats within the Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council (KAAC) to retain energy within the hill district for the second consecutive time period. Congress drew a clean for the second time in a row. Debutant AAP, which contested on 10 seats, fared higher than Congress in 4 seats, together with the one the place it completed second.
Baijayant Jay Panda, BJP nationwide vice-president and answerable for Assam, tweeted, “It’s a clean sweep for the @BJP4Assam in the Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council by winning all 26 seats. Tremendous performance by the party under the guiding light of PM @narendramodi Ji and able leadership of @himantabiswa Ji. ”
Tagging Sarma’s tweet, Prime Minister Narendra Modi wrote: ”Historic ends up in Karbi Anglong! I convey the individuals for his or her continuous religion in BJP and assure them that we are going to keep operating for Assam’s progress. The efforts of BJP karyakartas are outstanding. praise to them.”
In the final KAAC election held in 2017, BJP had gained 24 of the 26 seats. The remaining two seats had been bagged by independents. For Congress, Sunday’s defeat is the eighth on the trot in any election within the state since 2014. The Guwahati municipal polls held in April was the primary election during which Congress drew a clean, whereas BJP gained 58 of the 60 seats.
Set up below the sixth Schedule of the Constitution, the Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council consists of 30 members, 26 of whom are elected. The remaining members are nominated. Meanwhile, BJP’s ally UPPL gained the byelection to the Koklabari constituency of the Bodoland Territorial Council. The Bodo council, like KAAC, can also be an autonomous set-up below the sixth Schedule of the Constitution.

While observers same that the BJP’s success was expected, the elections saw a flurry of parties fight it out last week — from the Congress to the new fashioned All Party Hills Leaders Conference (APHLC), from recent player Autonomous State Demand Committee (ASDC) to Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

AAP finished second in one seat. talking to reporters, Sarma same that the most competitors for the BJP were the Congress and therefore the APHLC. “Both came a far off second. whereas Congress perhaps slowly disappearing from the national political landscape, it’s not utterly disappeared nevertheless. therefore we should always not get content,” he said.

Following the results, former province chief minister and Union Minister of Ports, Shipping and Waterways congratulated BJP province. “The win reflects the whole trust of individuals within the development initiatives of Hon’ble PM Shri @narendramodi Islamic Community within the last eight years” he tweeted.

Source link