Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma Expands Cabinet, 2 New Minister Takes Oath – Full Ministry List Inside

Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma Expands Cabinet, 2 New Minister Takes Oath - Full Ministry List Inside

GUWAHATI: BJP MLAs Jayanta Malla Baruah and Nandita Gorlosa on Thursday took oath as new ministers in Assam as chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma launched into his cupboard’s first growth, a month after finishing one year in office.

The swearing-in ceremony came about at Srimanta Sharakardev Kalakshetra at 3 PM.

Both the Ministers took their oath in presence of Assam Chief Minister Dr Himanta Biswa Saram and different cupboard ministers.

Assam governor Jagdish Mukhi administered the oath of workplace and secrecy to the 2 first-time ministers with Baruah and Gorlosa pledged in Assamese and English respectively.
Sarma took over as chief minister of Assam on May 10 final yr after BJP returned to energy within the meeting elections for a second consecutive time period.

Baruah, the chief minister’s political secretary, is an MLA from Nalbari whereas Gorlosa represents the Haflong constituency within the Assembly.

Baruah is a former Congress MLA and was elected for the primary time in 2011. However, he didn’t full his time period and defected to the BJP after Sarma left the grand outdated celebration to hitch the saffron brigade in 2015.

Gorlosa is a First time MLA from the BJP

With the 2 new inductees, the BJP-led Assam authorities at current has 16 cupboard ministers and there’s no one as minister of state.

As per the 91st modification of the Constitution in 2003, the entire variety of ministers, together with the chief minister, in a state shouldn’t exceed 15 p.c of the entire variety of members of the legislative meeting.

As the Assam meeting has a energy of 126 MLAs, a most of 19 ministers can operate at a time.

Himanta Biswa Sarma Expands Cabinet Full List

Minister’s Name Department
Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma, CM Assam
  • Home Department
  • Personnel Department
  • Public Work Department
  • Any other department not allotted to any other Minister.
Sri Ranjit Kumar Dass, Minister
  • Panchayat and Rural Development Department
  • Food and Supplies and Consumer Affairs Department
  • General Administration Department
Sri Atul Bora, Minister
  • Agriculture Department
  • Horticulture Department
  • Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Department
  • Border Area Development Department
  • Implementation of Assam Accord Dept.
Shri Urkhao Gwra Brahma, Minister
  • Handloom & Textile Department
  • Soil Conservation Department
  • Welfare of Bodoland Department
Shri Chandra Mohan Patowary, Minister
  • Environment & Forests Department
  • Act East Policy Affairs Department
  • Welfare of Minorities Department
Shri Parimal Shuklabaidya, Minister
  • Transport Department
  • Fisheries Department
  • Excise Department
Shri Keshab Mahanta, Minister
  • Health & Family Welfare Department
  • Medical Education & Research Dept
  • Science & Technology Department
  • Information Technology Department
Shri Ranuj Pegu, Minister
  • Education (Higher, Secondary and Elementary) Department
  • Tribal Welfare Department
  • Indigenous & Tribal Faith and Culture Dept (Directorates of Library and Museum)
Shri Ashok Singhal, Minister
  • Housing & Urban Affairs Department
  • Irrigation Department
Shri Jogen Mohan, Minister
  • Revenue & Disaster Management Dept
  • Hills Area Development Department
Shri Sanjay Kishan, Minister
  • Welfare of Tea Tribes Department
  • Labour Welfare Department
Smt Ajanta Neog, Minister
  • Finance Department
  • Women & Child Development Dept.
Shri Pijush Hazarika, Minister
  • Water Resources Department
  • Information & Public Relations Dept
  • Parliamentary Affairs Department
  • Social Justice & Empowerment Dept.
Shri Bimal Bora, Minister
  • Industries & Commerce and Public Enterprises Department
  • Cultural Affairs Department
Smt. Nandita Gorlosa, Minister
  • Power Department
  • Cooperation Department
  • Mines & Minerals Department
  • Indigenous & Tribal Faith and Culture Dept.
Shri Jayanta Malla Baruah, Minister
  • Public Health Engineering Department
  • Skill, Employment & Entrepreneurship Department.
  • Tourism Department