Advantage Dhankhar in as we speak’s vice presidential election

Former West Bengal governor Jagdeep Dhankhar is all set to turn out to be India’s 14th Vice President on Saturday because the Bharatiya Janata Party-led Nationalist Democratic Alliance (NDA), which has projected him because the candidate for the put up, has the required numbers within the two Houses of Parliament.

By late Saturday night, the returning officer will announce the results of the VP election, voting for which is able to happen from 10 am to five pm.

The battle traces are clearly drawn with almost all events saying their assist for both Dhankhar or Margaret Alva, the Opposition-sponsored candidate for the vice-presidential election. The Trinamool Congress (TMC), the most important Opposition celebration after the Congress, nevertheless, has caught to its choice to abstain from the election, additional denting Alva’s probabilities.

The electoral faculty for the vice-presidential election includes 780 votes — 543 elected Lok Sabha MPs and 237 members of the Rajya Sabha. Unlike the presidential election, members of state legislative assemblies so not vote within the vice-presidential ballot.

The BJP, which leads the NDA, alone has 394 MPs — 303 in Lok Sabha and 91 within the Rajya Sabha — greater than the midway mark of 391. Overall, Dhankhar is more likely to get 525 votes, together with NDA’s 462 votes, together with the 12 Shiv Sena insurgent MPs who’re loyalists of Maharashtra chief minister Eknath Shinde. The ruling dispensation has additionally secured assist from Andhra Pradesh’s ruling YSRCP (31 MPs), Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party BSP (11) and Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal (21 MPs).


Dhankhar is ready to win the ballot on Saturday and is anticipated to take oath because the vice chairman on August 10. However, he won’t be capable to chair the Rajya Sabha within the ongoing monsoon session as the federal government is discussing a plan to curtail the session probably on August 8 days forward of its scheduled adjournment on August 12.

Alva, in the meantime, has obtained the backing of a number of regional events, together with the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM). Hyderabad MP Assaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM has additionally prolonged its assist to Alva, who is anticipated to get greater than 200 votes within the Saturday’s election.

“If Parliament is to function effectively, MPs, independent of their parties, must find ways to rebuild trust and restore broken communication amongst each other. In the end, it is the MPs who determine the character of our Parliament,” Alva mentioned in a recent video message on the eve of the election.

She added: “The time has come for all parties to get together and restore the faith and the trust in each other and restore the dignity of Parliament.”

Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge hosted a dinner on Thursday evening to thank all opposition MPs who’re supporting Alva.

Dhankhar, alternatively, met numerous BJP MPs at his residence on Friday. They embrace Sushil Kumar Modi, Gautam Gambhir, Rajyavardhan Rathore, Rajendra Agrawal, Pradeep Choudhary and Kartikeya Sharma, amongst others.

(With PTI inputs)

Source link